Patrol Section

Patrol Section

General Information

El Paso County is the second most populous county in Colorado, after the City and County of Denver.  The county seat, Colorado Springs, is the second most populous city in the State.  El Paso County encompasses approximately 2,159 square miles and within that mileage, approximately 1,900 square miles are unincorporated.  The law enforcement responsibility for these 1,900 unincorporated miles is that of the Sheriff’s Office Patrol Division.  The Patrol Division is dedicated to serving the public and preserving peace for citizens residing in or visiting El Paso County.

The El Paso County Sheriff’s Office Patrol Division is authorized eighty-nine (89) sworn positions.  The ranks within those positions include Deputy III, Deputy II, Deputy I, Senior Deputy, Sergeant and Lieutenant.  Currently there are thirteen sergeant positions, five lieutenant positions, and seventy one deputy positions.  Deputies work within eight primary districts that include areas such as Gleneagle, Black Forest, Cimarron Hills, Falcon, Peyton, Ellicott, Rush, Ramah, Security, Widefield, Stratmoor Valley, B Street, and Ute Pass.  These districts are subdivided into smaller sectors based on factors such as population and call volume. 

Currently there are three shifts deputies work that cover twenty-four hour days, 365 days a year.  The number of deputies deployed per shift varies and can range from eight to fifteen, dependent upon the shift.  Some of the duties Patrol deputies are responsible for include conducting criminal investigations, completing case reports, making arrests, writing arrest and search warrants, traffic enforcement, assisting other agencies, and proactive patrolling for DUIs, business checks, and citizen contacts.  Our goal is to prevent and deter crime.

Deputies often work directly with the public on preventative programs to reduce crime before it happens through education.  These efforts are aligned with Community Oriented Policing (COP) philosophies, and encourage citizens and business owners to become more involved with their neighborhoods.  The intent is to improve the quality of life for citizens by reducing crime, and by building trust between the community and law enforcement.  Creating these partnerships helps to solve problems that may cause crime through working with other agencies, organizations, businesses, and citizens.  Communication lines are opened up to help identify problems that may not be readily apparent to law enforcement.  Certain crimes may be reported online at

It is also the Patrol Division’s responsibility to respond to and assist with major events such as the Waldo Canyon Fire, the Black Forest Fire, and the Planned Parenthood shooting.  During times like these, Patrol deputies may be required to work twelve hour shifts, respond to calls for service within municipalities, and continue to be in “on-call” status when they are off duty.  Patrol deputies have also responded to assist other counties when tragedies have stuck them.

Members of the El Paso County Sheriff’s Office Patrol Division strive to be guardians of our community, accountable and transparent in our actions, and protectors of Constitutional Rights.

In the event you have an emergency, call 9-1-1.  The non-emergent phone number to report a crime is (719) 390-5555. 

Shift Information
Day Shift 


Mids Shift 
Contact: Lt. Michael St. Charles                              
Phone: (719) 520-7161
Contact: Lt. Michael Baier / Lt. John Sarkisian
Phone: (719) 520-7974 / 7191
Contact: Lt. Jason Hess / Lt. Matthew Holt
Phone: (719) 520-7137 / 6333
Contact Information
Commander Mitch MIhalko
Ride Along Program

Click the button below to learn more about our Ride Along Program.

Office of the Sheriff

27 East Vermijo Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
United States

719-520-7100 / 719-390-5555 (after hours)

El Paso County Jail

2739 East Las Vegas Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
United States