Citizens' Academy

individuals learning about law enforcement

Citizens' Academy

For two nights a week over this 5 week course, participants will get an overview and insight into the various functions of the Sheriff’s Office.  You will have the opportunity to participate in a ride-along with patrol deputies to observe first-hand the variety of calls handled by the Sheriff’s Office.  You'll have a tour of the Jail to better understand the environment and hard work facing our detention staff.  You are going to experience scenarios and simulators, putting you in moments police face daily.  Topics covered include: Investigations, Patrol functions, Courthouse, Wildland Fire, Training, and more!

Our next Citizens' Academy will start September 10, 2024.  Apply today!

This Academy is offered at no cost to participants.  Applicants must pass a standard background check, and attendance will be limited to 40.  Deadline for applications is August 10, 2024.

Class is held on Tuesday and Thursday for five weeks starting Septemeber 10, 2024.  Participants are expected to wear appropriate business-casual attire.  Scenarios and simulator participation will be voluntary.  This is not a virtual course and participants must attend in-person.  Email [email protected] for questions.



Office of the Sheriff

27 East Vermijo Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
United States

719-520-7100 / 719-390-5555 (after hours)

El Paso County Jail

2739 East Las Vegas Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
United States