Concealed Handgun Permit
Starting Monday, May 11, 2020, the El Paso County Sheriff’s Concealed Handgun Permit Office will resume accepting appointments for new Concealed Handgun Permits (CHP’s) by phone. Beginning May 11th, please call our office at 719-520-7249 to schedule an appointment. We cannot accept requests for appointments before May 11th, and we do not schedule appointments by email.
We will process as many applicants as we can each day, allowing for proper sanitation between appointments. This may create longer wait times in the lobby. Due to social distancing requirements, the lobby capacity at the Sheriff’s Office has been reduced to 12 people. It is possible that applicants might have to wait outside if the lobby is at capacity.
All CHP applicants will be required to wear a mask when coming to the Sheriff’s Office. In addition, applicants will receive a non-intrusive temperature scan and will be asked a series of symptomology questions. These overall changes, as well as the anticipated volume of appointments may extend scheduling for up to three months.
We are sorry for any inconvenience these precautions may cause, however, we want to ensure we are following all protocols to keep everyone safe. Thank you for your understanding
The El Paso County Sheriff's Office is pleased to provide you with the following information in order to assist you with the Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) application process. On this page you will find the following information to guide you: application, information packet, required fees, procedures and guidelines for the program. The El Paso County Sheriff's Office Concealed Handgun Program complies with Colorado Revised Statutes regarding concealed handgun permits. (Colorado Revised Statutes 18-12-203 through 18-12-207)
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMITS ARE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
Hours of Operation: Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm, closed on Saturdays, Sundays, and Federal Holidays. In the event of inclement weather, please call 719-520-7249.
Please call 719-520-7249 to schedule an appointment. Please have your proof of training available for verification when calling to schedule your appointment.
- The completed unsigned two page application. If the application is not fully completed, it cannot be processed.
Colorado Drivers License or State ID with full legal name and current El Paso County address.
$135.00 payable by CASH (exact change REQUIRED, the Sheriff's Office cannot make change), DEBIT/CREDIT CARD with 2.5% bank fee, MONEY ORDER, or CASHIER’S CHECK; non-cash payments are made payable to E.P.S.O. This includes the fee for the background, fingerprint check (CBI Cost) and the processing fee for the El Paso County Sheriff's Office.
Proof of firearms training. *See below for firearms training requirements
Your initial appointment will take approximately 20 minutes. At that time, your application will be reviewed, a photo and signature will be obtained, fees will be collected, and your fingerprints will be taken.
RENEWAL INFORMATION FOR CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMITS
Pursuant to C.R.S. 18-12-211 (1) (a) a permit may be renewed within 120 days prior to the expiration date.
Renewal reminder notices will be mailed approximately 120 days prior to the permit expiration date. Please note that no permit will be renewed six months or more after its expiration date. Effective January 1, 2020 – the fee for RENEWAL permits will change to $63.00
The following three items are required to renew your El Paso County Concealed Handgun Permit:
Please return the following items by mail or in person to:
27. E. Vermijo Ave, C/S CO 80903 Attn: CHP
- Completed, signed and notarized RENEWAL application
- COLOR copy (front and back) of your Colorado Driver’s License with your full legal name AND current El Paso County address on it.
Permits that expire on or before 12/31/2019 require a $53.00 MONEY ORDER or CASHIER’s CHECK made payable to E.P.S.O. Permits that expire on or after 01/31/2020 require a $63.00 MONEY ORDER or CASHIER’s CHECK made payable to E.P.S.O.
- Additional firearms training is NOT required for the renewal process
- The renewal process can take up to 90 Days to complete. Renewed Concealed Handgun Permits will be mailed to your listed address.
Pursuant to HB 14-1166, which was signed into effect on March 14, 2014, by the Governor; if you no longer reside in El Paso County when it comes time to renew your Concealed Handgun Permit, you will need to contact the county in which you live to renew your permit.
An applicant must meet the following criteria:
- Be 21 years of age or older at the time of the application
- Be a resident of El Paso County (active military stationed in El Paso County qualify as residents with a Military ID and PCS Orders)
- Provide a valid Colorado Driver's License or Colorado ID or a Military ID and PCS orders
- Submit proof of firearms training within the last ten years
- Successfully complete a background investigation
Firearms Training Requirements
The applicant must submit with the application the original certificate or a photocopy of the certificate with the instructors original signature, affidavit, or other document from the instructor, school, club, business, organization, or group that conducted or taught the course or class, attesting to the successful completion of the training. All documentation must have been obtained within the 10 years preceding submittal of the application.
The applicant demonstrates competence with a handgun by submitting any of the following:
- Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions or current military service;
- Evidence that, at the time the application is submitted, the applicant is a certified instructor;
- Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces within the three years preceding submittal of the application;
- Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application;
- A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado law enforcement agency that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application;
- A training certificate from a handgun training class obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application. The applicant shall submit the original training certificate or a photocopy thereof that includes the original signature of the class instructor. To the extent permitted by section 18-12-202 (5), in obtaining a training certificate from a handgun training class, the applicant shall have discretion in selecting which handgun training class to complete. Online courses and Hunters Education certificates are not acceptable.