Sheriff Roybal, Mikesell Expand Coalition in Support of HB 24-1128

Feb 21, 2024 - 12:00pm

Earlier this month, Sheriff Joseph Roybal of El Paso County and Sheriff Jason Mikesell of Teller County formed a coalition of Sheriffs across Colorado supporting HB 24-1128. HB 24-1128 is legislation aimed at reversing previously passed legislation, specifically HB 19-1124 and HB 23-1100. 

Combined, these bills prevent Colorado law enforcement agencies, such as the El Paso County Sheriff’s Office, from working with federal partners, such as ICE (U.S. Customs and Immigration Enforcement), to uphold the laws of the constitution, and collaborate efforts to arrest, detain, and deport undocumented, residents.

In Summary: 

HB 19-1124

-Prohibits Colorado LEAs from arresting or detaining an individual based on a civil immigration detainer request from ICE or any other requesting agency. 

HB 23-1100

-Prohibits local government entities from entering into agreements for the detention of individuals in an immigration detention facility owned/operated by a private entity;

-Prohibits local government entities from selling any property for the purpose of establishing in an immigration detention facility owned/operated by a private entity;

-Prohibits local government entities from entering into agreements to house or detain individuals for federal immigration purposes;

-Requires local government entities to terminate any existing agreements for the purpose of housing or detaining individuals for federal immigration purposes.

Current endorsements for HB 24-1128 include:

El Paso County Sheriff’s Office- Sheriff Joseph Roybal

Teller County Sheriff’s Office- Sheriff Jason Mikesell 

Prowers County Sheriff’s Office- Sheriff Sam Zordel

Douglas County Sheriff’s Office- Sheriff Darrin Weekly

Bent County Sheriff’s Office- Sheriff Jake Six 

Fremont County Sheriff’s Office- Allen Cooper 

Moffat County Sheriff’s Office- Sheriff KC Hume

Garfield County Sheriff’s Office- Sheriff Lou Vallario 

Weld County Sheriff’s Office- Sheriff Steve Reams 

Mesa County Sheriff’s Office- Sheriff Todd Rowell 

Archuleta County Sheriff’s Office- Sheriff Mike Le Roux 

FAIR- Federation for American Immigration Reform 

El Paso County Board of County Commissioners- Chair Cami Bremer, Vice Chair Carrie Geitner, Longinos Gonzalez, Holly Willams, and Stan VanderWerf 

Teller County Board of County Commissioners- Chair Bob Campbell, Dan Williams, and Erik Stone 

“On Thursday, we plan to make our voices heard and stand up for the autonomy local governments should, by law, uphold,” said Sheriff Roybal and Sheriff Mikesell.

“As Sheriffs duly elected by the citizens of our counties, we know what is best for public safety for the communities we call home. 

“Together, we will work to ensure law enforcement in Colorado may perform their duties to protect citizens without unconstitutional government overreach or obstruction. Ultimately, our goal is to make our community safer for families and businesses. 

“Thank you to everyone who has endorsed this critical legislation, and thank you to the bill sponsors, Representative Holtorf and Senator Baisley, for addressing government overreach. 

“We strongly encourage all citizens of El Paso and Teller County to contact their representatives in the Colorado legislature and ask them to support HB 24-1128.”

Contact information for members of the State, Civic, Military, & Veterans Affairs Committee is listed below:

Representative Steven Woodrow (Chairman)-303-866-2967-
[email protected]
Representative Andrew Boesenecker (Vice Chairman)-303-866-2917- [email protected]
Representative Scott Bottoms-303-866-5525-[email protected]
Representative Brandi Bradley-303-866-2935- [email protected]
Representative Kyle Brown- 303-866-2920-[email protected]
Representative Ken DeGraaf- 303-866-2927-[email protected]
Representative Elisabeth Epps- 303-866-2911-[email protected]
Representative Jennifer Lea Parenti- 303-866-2924-[email protected]
Representative Naquetta Ricks- 303-866-2944-[email protected]
Representative Manny Rutinel- 303-866-2945-[email protected]
Representative Jenny Willford- 303-866-2931-[email protected]

HB 24-1128 is scheduled to be heard in committee on Thursday, February 22nd, 2024, upon adjournment.

MR 24-011

Office of the Sheriff

27 East Vermijo Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
United States

719-520-7100 / 719-390-5555 (after hours)

El Paso County Jail

2739 East Las Vegas Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
United States