4th of July Firework Information for El Paso County

Jun 30, 2023 - 1:30pm

The El Paso County Sheriff's Office has not issued a fire ban for unincorporated El Paso County. Nor has the Board of County Commissioners issued a firework ban. 

Depending on where you live or are planning to celebrate in El Paso County, certain types of fireworks may be permitted, such as sparklers, snakes, fountains, tanks, smoke bombs, wheels, and ground spinners.

Those living or visiting municipalities and special fire districts have the responsibility to check if those individual jurisdictions have issued their own restrictions. 

For example, the City of Colorado Springs has banned all fireworks.

Cherry bombs, roman candles, firecrackers, bottle rockets, shells and rockets, M-80s and M-100s, and helicopters are all examples of illegal fireworks. A good rule of thumb: anything that explodes or leaves the ground are illegal in Colorado.

“The 4th of July is a time to enjoy with friends and family, the unique freedoms we enjoy as Americans. We truly live in the greatest nation in the world- a gift worth celebrating!

Stay safe, stay vigilant, have fun, and enjoy this important holiday. God bless you, our great nation, and all who endeavor to defend and keep her.  Happy Independence Day, El Paso County!”- Sheriff Joe Roybal


Office of the Sheriff

27 East Vermijo Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
United States

719-520-7100 / 719-390-5555 (after hours)

El Paso County Jail

2739 East Las Vegas Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
United States